Your Favorite Childhood Books

What were your favorite books as a child?

For me, nothing could compare to magic that existed in the story of The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams. The philosophical idea within the story that “love makes something real” must have captivated me because I have vivid memories of believing all my deeply-loved, inanimate friends of the stuffed variety had feelings. I especially had a soft spot for stuffed, plush bunnies as a child. My very first lovey was bestowed the name “Ba-doo”, the best I could do with the word “bunny” at the age of two. She never left my side and was my own personal security blanket.

That’s her picture in this post. I still have her. I believe that she’s weathered the years beautifully. Her face is gone, her ears are worn and her color has faded but when I look at her I see my sweet little friend. I know that she was  deeply loved by a little girl who truly believed that she was real.

Image

Leave a comment

Filed under Posts

Leave a Reply

